Preface



current topics in solid state physics

The 36th International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors (ISCS 2009) was held from August 30 to September 2, 2009, in Santa Barbara, California. As in previous symposia, ISCS united researchers investigating III-V and II-IV compound semiconductors as well as SiGe, SiC and carbon related materials and devices.

The ISCS series looks upon a long history, which begun in 1966 with the first "International Symposium on GaAs and Related Compounds" in Reading, England. Since then, the conference has been held annually, rotating between Asia, Europe and North America. The conference selects eminent scientists for three prestigious awards, namely the Welker Award, the Quantum Device Award and the Young Scientist Award.

The 36th symposium in Santa Barbara was attended by 215 scientists from 19 countries, with 28% from Asia, 16% from Europe, 2% from Australia, and 54% from America.

The agenda consisted of 4 plenary talks, 16 invited talks, and 96 contributing talks that were presented together with 65 posters. The plenary talks highlighted advances in various areas: Hideo Ohno from Tohoku University spoke on "Ferromagnetism in III-V Semiconductors", Peidong Yang from the University of California Berkeley on "Semiconductor Nanowires for Photonics and Energy Conversion", Hari Manoharan from Stanford University discussed "Spin-Atom Spintronics of Graphene", and John Bowers from the University of California Santa Barbara "Ge/Si PIN and APD Photodetectors."

The 37th symposium, held from May 31 to June 4, 2010 in Takamatsu, Japan, is organized by Prof. Yoshiro Hirayama from Tohoku University.

We would like to thank Yasuhiko Arakawa, Oliver Ambacher and Pallab Bhattacharya, who served as Regional Program Chairs and the Technical Program Committee for reviewing the abstracts and generating the program. In addition we would like to thank Ben Streetman who served as the chair of the Awards Committee, the session chairs, and all those who helped with arrangements.

Pallab Bhattacharya University of Michigan On behalf of the regional Program Chairs

Umesh K. Mishra University of California, Santa Barbara Symposium Chair

Stacia Keller and Yuvaraj Dora University of California, Santa Barbara **Guest Editors**



ISCS 2009 Committee members

Technical Program Committee

European Committee

Oliver Ambacher (*chair*) Marianne Germain Tadeusz Suski Elias Munoz Martin Kuball Dominique Pons Thomas Roedle Nikos Chaniotakis Nicolas Grandjean

Walter Rieger Rüdiger Goldhahn

Asian Committee

Yasuhiko Arakawa (*chair*) Hiroshi Amano Shizuo Fujita Fumio Koyama Yoshiro Hirayama Kazuhiko Hirakawa Ssusumu Noda Bo Shen Euijoon Yoon Chih-Chung Yang

American Committee

Pallab Bhattacharya (*chair*) Umesh Mishra (*ex-officio*) John Bowers Bobby Brar Connie Chang-Hasnain Diana Huffaker Sanjay Krishna Steve Ringel Nitin Samarth Rick Schneider Fraunhofer IAF, Germany IMEC, Belgium Unipress, Poland Univ. Politecnica de Madrid UPM, Spain Univ. of Bristol, UK Alcatel-Thales III–V Lab, France NXP Semiconductors, The Netherlands Univ. of Crete, Greece Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland Infineon Technologies, Austria Technical Univ. of Ilmenau, Germany

Univ. of Tokyo, Japan Meijo Univ., Japan Kyoto Univ., Japan Tokyo Inst. of Tech., Japan Tohoku Univ., Japan Univ. of Tokyo, Japan Kyoto Univ., Japan Peking Univ., China Seoul National Univ., Korea National Taiwan Univ., Taiwan

Univ. of Michigan Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Teledyne Technologies, California Univ. of California, Berkeley Univ. of California, Los Angeles Univ. of New Mexico Ohio State Univ. Pennsylvania State Univ. Infinera Corp., California

International Steering Committee

Hiroyuki Sakaki (chair) Yasuhiko Arakawa Colombo Bolognesi Jim Coleman Jim Harris Yoshiro Hirayama Diana Huffaker Marc Ilegems Umesh Mishra Klaus H. Ploog Henning Riechert Tom Tiedje Eric Tournie Charles Tu Joachim Wagner Günter Weimann Jong-Chun Woo Naoki Yokoyama

Toyota Technological Institute, Japan University of Tokyo, Japan ETH Zurich. Switzerland University of Illinois, USA Stanford University, USA Tohoku University, Japan University of California Los Angeles, USA EPFL, Switzerland University of California, Santa Barbara, USA Paul Drude Institut, Germany Paul Drude Institut, Germany UBC, Canada Université Montpellier 2, France University of California, San Diego, USA Fraunhofer IAF, Germany Fraunhofer IAF, Germany Seoul National University, Korea Fujitsu Labs, Japan

Local Organizing Committee

Umesh Mishra Steven Denbaars James Speck Yuvaraj Dora Stacia Keller Lisa Dahlen Sally Vito Whitney Morris

Awards Committee

Ben G. Streetman (*chair*) Connie Chang-Hasnain Naoki Yokoyama Yasuhiko Arakawa Günter Weimann Marc Ilegems

Klaus Streubel

University of Texas, USA University of California, Berkeley, USA Fujitsu Labs, Japan University of Tokyo, Japan Fraunhofer Institute, Germany Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland Osram, Europe



Conference Support





WINERY