1944. He has steadily progressed in appointments at the University of Rochester and is at present professor of Radiation Biology and division chief of the Atomic Energy Project. In 1955, he was awarded the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry by the American Chemical Society.

Dr. Neuman's research interests include the chemistry and physiology of the skeleton, the mode of action of parathyroid hormone, and the biological effects of radiation. He is a highly productive investigator having published over 100 papers, at least one book, and a dozen University of Rochester reports, not yet published. His contributions include studies on dynamics and calcification, the conditions for the formation of bone salts and their dissolution, and the induction of nucleation by means of collagen fiber. Furthermore, he has developed and encouraged a great many investigators who are now independent scientists. It is a real pleasure to make this presentation to a creative scientist, Dr. William F. Neuman.

H. Trendley Dean Award

In 1963, Dr. Frank J. McClure established the H. Trendley Dean Award to commemorate the accomplishments of Dr. Dean in dental research, especially those accomplishments which were concerned with establishing the role of fluoridation in the prevention of dental caries. Dr. James R. Blayney, the man who is to receive the 1965 award, is especially well-known for his direction of the Evanston Dental-Caries Study. This study made a significant addition to the knowledge of the role of fluoride in the prevention of dental disease. It seems to me rather interesting that Dr. Blayney receives his honor for work which he began after he had retired from the University of Chicago, where he had been director of the Walter G. Zoller Memorial Dental Clinic for eighteen years. This is not the first honor which Dr. Blavney has received. He is past president of the Illinois State Dental Society and the International Association for Dental Research; he was a founding member and fellow of the American Academy of Oral Pathology and its president in 1950. He was a member of the Council on Dental Education of the American Dental Association for six years and a member of the ADA Council on Dental Research for the same period. He has served the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Dental Research for four years. It is a pleasure to present to Dr. Blayney, whom I have known for many years, the 1965 H. Trendley Dean Award.

Presentation of the Edward E. Hatton Awards

KAMAL ASGAR Michigan School of Dentistry, Ann Arbor, Michigan

On behalf of the entire Hatton Awards Committee, which consisted of James K. Avery, Clifton O. Dummett, Martin Lunin, Richard S. Manly, Isadore Zipkin, and Kamal Asgar, Kamal Asgar presented the Hatton Awards to the following individuals: Robert C. Dolven was selected as winner of the undergraduate award. He is a senior dental student from the School of Dentistry at the University of Minnesota. Miss Mildred Romans was chosen as second in this division. Miss Romans is studying at Howard University College of Dentistry. Louis Ripa from Eastman Dental Dispensary was selected the winner of the graduate division. William Malone from the University of Illinois was selected as second in this division.

These awards, as in previous years, were supported by the Warner-Lambert Pharmaceutical Company to the extent of \$1,750.